Some of The Best Writing Advice I Have Received

During my writing career I have been fortunate enough to meet, as well as work with some really accomplished journalists, news directors, editors, professors and authors. Along the way I have learned a great deal from all of them…so whenever I get asked for writing advice I like to refer to what they once told me; tips that I took to heart. I hope you find this advice as helpful as I have.

The best of the best writing tips…

  • Tell the stories that only you can tell. There are always going to be better writers than you, but you are the only you on the planet.
  • Consistency in your writing is key!
  • If you don’t take time to read a lot, don’t bother taking time to write.
  • Don’t kid yourself – the first draft is never close to what the final draft should look like.
  • Don’t spend time with people who are not going to support your writing efforts.
  • Collect stories from everyone you meet.
  • Every sentence should do one of two things: reveal something or advance the action.
  • Get a copy of Elements of Style.
  • Read your copy out loud.
  • Write every day.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Some of The Best Writing Advice I Have Received

  1. Excellent advice, Teresa. And great reminders too. Hope all goes well with you. I’ve been under the weather and out of touch with everyone, but I read this post of yours! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

